Monday, February 13, 2012

Yukon Quest Update #15

At 4:23pm local time, 7:23 Eastern, Allen Moore will depart Braeburn, with 100 miles left to make history, as the only husband-and-wife duo to win the Yukon Quest – his wife Aliy Zirlke won it in 2000, becoming the first – and only – female musher to do so.
Due to Hugh Neff serving a 30-minute penalty for losing his axe, he will leave 42 minutes behind Allen. Not insurmountable, but certainly a challenge, to make up in 100 miles.
Lance Mackey and his young team will depart just over 3 hours later, basically out of the running. Jake Berkowitz follows 2 and a half hours after Lance, so it is possible, although doubtful, that he could overtake Lance for 3rd.

With the run times estimated around 12 hours, the estimated time of arrival in Whitehorse is 4:30am local time, or 7:30am ET, give or take an hour.

Brent Sass looks to have a spot in the top five. Sonny Lindner will attempt to hold off Norwegian rookie Joar Leifseth Ulsom for 6th place.

Kristy Berington and Abbie West are trading off 8th place, and Dave Dalton looks to round out the Top Ten.

The rest of the field is on the move, with the exception of the Russian Michael Telpin sitting out his 36 in Dawson with a departure time of 7:22pm local time.

Unofficial Standings as of 7:30pm ET:

In Braeburn
1 Allen Moore (1)
2 Hugh Neff (6)
3 Lance Mackey (16)
4 Jake Berkowitz (13) (R)

On the way to Braeburn
5 Brent Sass (10)
6 Sonny Lindner (3)
7 Joar Leifseth Ulsom (17) (R)

In Carmacks
8 Kristy Berington (2) (R)
9 Abbie West (21)

On the trail to Carmacks
10 Dave Dalton (4)
11 Kyla Durham (7)

On the trail to Pelly
12 Trent Herbst (22) (R)
13 Paige Drobny (12) (R)
14 Gus Guenther (20) (R)
15 Yuka Honda (19) (R)
16 Brian Wilmshurst (11) (R)
17 Misha Pedersen (5) (R)

Out of Dawson City
18 Marcelle Fressineau (15) (R)

In Dawson City
19 Michael Telpin (24) (R)

Nikolay Ettyne (14) (R)
Maren Bradley (23) (R)
Jason Weitzel (9) (R)
Mike Ellis (18)

Kurt Reich (8) (R)

No comments: