Friday, February 24, 2012

Fur Rondy Begins Today

Anchorage, Alaska – Feb. 24, 2012

The Fur Rondy Open World Championship Sled Dog Race is set to begin today in downtown Anchorage.

Five-time Champion Egil Ellis returns to defend his title, winning last year after the unfortunate disqualification of Blayne “Buddy” Streeper, the 6-time champion and winner of the previous 4 races. Without Streeper this year, the door is open for long-time contenders Arleigh Reynolds, Ken Chezik and Bill Kornmuller, all looking for their first win in the Rondy. German musher Michael Tetzner returns in an attempt to add to his international fame. This year’s race features 8 rookies, in addition to 16 veterans. The race trail runs 25 miles, beginning and ending on 4th Avenue, with heats on each of the next three days.

Follow the race at:

Bib Name Home Town

1 Brent Beck Yellowknife NWT
2 Ken Chezik Fife Lake, Michigan
3 Jack Berry Homer, Alaska
4 Mari Wood Willow, Alaska
5 Jeff Conn Ester, Alaska
6 Don Cousins Crooked Creek, Alberta
7 Michael Tetzner Near Hamburg, Germany
8 Arleigh Reynolds Salcha, Alaska
9 Greg Taylor Fairbanks, Alaska
10 Randy DeKuiper Fremont, MI
11 Bill Kornmuller Willow, Alaska
12 Will Kornmuller Willow, Alaska
13 Marvin Kokrine North Pole, Alaska
14 Egil Ellis Willow, Alaska
15 Nathan Sterling Willow, Alaska
16 John Erhart Tanana, Alaska
17 Jon Bunderson (R) Soda Springs, Idaho
18 Greg Sellentin(R) Willow, Alaska
19 Ron Peebles(R) West Lock, Alberta
20 Kevin Cook(R) Preeceville, Saskatchewan
21 Danny Beck(R) Hay River, NWT
22 Guy Girard(R) Saint-Thomas de Joliette, Quebec, Canada
23 Marie-Anick Alie(R) Inuvick, NWT
24 Ron Worden(R) Mexico, New York

*(R) indicates rookies

No comments: