Saturday, February 19, 2011

Yukon Quest Update #21

Red Lantern

Hank DeBruin takes the Red Lantern in 13 days, 10 hours and 54 minutes, ending the 2011 Yukon Quest.

Earlier in the day, Tamara Rose, Kyla Durham and Jerry Joinson arrived in Fairbanks.

At the Banquet, the awards were given. A new award was created this year to honor the dogs that exhibit strong character and perseverance out on the trail. The award is named after its first recipient. Silver, from Brent Sass’ team. In 2006, during a storm on Eagle Summit, Silver was instrumental in assisting a musher in trouble and another team to get over the summit. Again, this year, Silver was key for Brent in getting his team and Hans Gatt’s over American summit outside the city of Eagle. The Silver Legacy Award will be given to honor future canines for their incredible deeds and feats of bravery and honor.

The Golden Harness Award went to Dallas Seavey’s dogs Diesel and Chung.

The Dawson City Award went to Ken Anderson.

The Rookie of the Year went to the 2011 Yukon Quest Champion Dallas Seavey.

The Challenge of the North award is presented to the musher who most exemplified the Spirit of the Yukon Quest, went to Kelley Griffin.

The Veterinarian’s Choice Award for best dog care went to Mike Ellis.

The Sportsmanship Award is presented to the musher who demonstrates sportsmanship along the trail as selected by their fellow mushers. This year, there was a three-way tie in the musher voting which race officials chose not to break. Instead, they issued the Award to all three mushers: Mike Ellis, Allen Moore and Brent Sass. The three mushers each conveyed the same message – that this year, the award could have gone to each and every musher, because everyone was out there helping each other.

Final Standings

  1. Dallas Seavey (3)
  2. Sebastian Schnuelle (11)
  3. Ken Anderson (18)
  4. Brent Sass (22)
  5. Kelley Griffin (1)
  6. Allen Moore (24)
  7. Jodi Bailey (17)
  8. Mike Ellis
  9. David Dalton (23)
  10. Tamara Rose (12)
  11. Kyla Durham (14)
  12. Jerry Joinson (21)
  13. Hank DeBruin (19)


Denis Tremblay (2)

Allen Dennis (20)

Michelle Phillips (4)

Wade Marrs (15)

Clint Warnke (25)

Didier Moggia (7)

Joshua Cadzow (16)

Hans Gatt (13)

Dan Kaduce (10)


Christine Roalofs (9)

Hugh Neff (8)

Johannes Rygh (6)

1 comment:

Mindee* said...

Thanks so much for your reports. You were a dependable place to find news about everyone. I do appreciate it when someone realizes the race isn't over until EVERY musher is in. Thanks again.