Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Iditarod Update #17 - We Have A Winner!

Dallas Seavey wins the 2012 Iditarod!!!

At 7:29pm AKDT, Willow musher Dallas Seavey crossed under the burled arch to win the 2012 Iditarod. His winning time was 9 days, 4 hours, 9 minutes, 26 seconds.

He set or tied several records:
He is the youngest musher to win the Iditarod (25 years old)
(He was also the youngest musher to win the Yukon Quest at 23 years old in 2011)
He is the second son of a former champion to win (Dick Mackey ’78/Lance Mackey ’07-‘10; Mitch Seavey ’04/Dallas Seavey ‘12)
He is the first third-generation Iditarod finisher to win. (Grandfather Dan, father Mitch)
He is the fourth musher to win both Iditarod and Yukon Quest (Joe Runyun, Jeff King, Lance Mackey)

Aliy Zirkle finished an hour behind for 2nd place, repeating the finish of her husband, Allen Moore, in the Yukon Quest, with many of the same dogs.

In a video interview at the finish line, Seavey said, “Awesome, it was a lot of fun racing you! Let’s do this again next year!” Zirkle replied, “I’ll get back to you after that first beer.” Seavey: “O.K., well I’ll buy that for you!”

Ramey Smyth trailed Zirkle by thirty minutes, for another good finish, after coming in 2nd last year.

Aaron Burmeister has finished 4th, and Peter Kaiser 5th.

In a hard-fought sprint to the finish, Ray Redington Jr. places 6th, Mitch Seavey 7th, Michael Williams, Jr. 8th and John Baker 9th.

DeeDee Jonrowe looks to finish 10th, with a decent lead over Sigrid Ekran out of Safety.

Ken Anderson, top rookie Brent Sass and Sonny Lindner are out of White Mountain, with Paul Gephardt set to leave an hour before Hugh Neff and Michelle Phillips, in a race to stay in the top 15.

Martin and Rohn Buser are in Elim, with Gerald Sousa in 20th.

Jodi Bailey leaves Koyuk in 21st place, followed 15 minutes by her friend, Michigan musher Ed Stielstra, and the pack that traveled across the bay together, brought up by Lance Mackey in the rear.

The back of the pack of Bob Chlupach and Jan Steves are in Galena.

Tom Thurston scratched in Unalakleet and Kirk Barnum in Kaltag.

(Based on tracker data and Official Standings):

1. Dallas Seavey (34)
2. Aliy Zirkle (14)
3. Ramey Smyth (21)
4. Aaron Burmeister (44)
5. Peter Kaiser (28)
6. Ray Redington Jr (2)
7. Mitch Seavey (35)
8. Michael Williams, Jr (51)
9. John Baker (11)

On the Trail to Nome
10. DeeDee Jonrowe (17)
11. Sigrid Ekran (24)
12. Ken Anderson (39)
13. Brent Sass (50) {R}
14. Sonny Lindner (59)

In White Mountain
15. Paul Gebhardt (25)
16. Hugh Neff (27)
17. Michelle Phillips (26)

In Elim
18. Martin Buser (41)
19. Rohn Buser (62)
20. Gerald Sousa (58)

On the Trail to Elim
21. Jodi Bailey (6)
22. Ed Stielstra (45)
23. Nicolas Petit (9)
24. Kelley Griffin (20)
25. Ryne Olson (46) {R}
26. Anjanette Steer (32) {R}
27. Colleen Robertia (42)
28. Lance Mackey (18)

In Koyuk
29. Rick Swenson (60)
30. Cim Smyth (8)
31. Braxton Peterson (63) {R}
32. Kelly Maixner (12)
33. Jim Lanier (3)
34. Mike Santos (22) {R}

On the Trail to Koyuk
35. Curt Perano (61) {R}
36. Karin Hendrickson (43)
37. Justin Savidis (38)
38. William Pinkham (4)
39. Matt Giblin (52)

In Shaktoolik
40. Bruce Linton (36)
41. Scott Janssen (37)
42. Trent Herbst (16)
43. Anna Berington, (33) {R}
44. Kristy Berington (31)
45. Art Church, Jr (64)
46. Travis Cooper (19) {R}
47. Karen Ramstead (56)

On the Trail to Shaktoolik
48. Hank Debruin (48) {R}

In Unalakleet
49. Jaimee Kinzer (30) {R}
50. Matt Failor (57) {R}
51. Michael Suprenant (13)

On the Trail to Unalakleet
52. Dan Seavey (65)

On the Trail to Kaltag
53. Bob Chlupach (49)
54. Jan Steves (40) {R}

Kirk Barnum (47)
Tom Thurston (5)
Gerry Willomitzer (23)
Josh Cadzow (55) {R}
Jeff King (10)
Pat Moon (15) {R}
Jake Berkowitz (29)
Lachlan Clarke (66)
Zoya DeNure (53)
Wade Marrs (7)
Ryan Redington (67)
Silvia Furtwängler (54) {R}

Bib Numbers (X)
Rookie {R}

No comments: